Other Iwi Authorities (Hauāuru)

The term “iwi authority” is defined in the RMA only for the purposes of that Act. An iwi authority is not, therefore, necessarily the same thing as other representative iwi organisations recognised by the Crown. Consequently entry as an “Other Iwi Authority” does not in itself specifically imply formal Crown recognition of that group as an iwi, nor formal recognition by the Crown of that “iwi authority” to act on behalf of that iwi.

Ka Rū a Poutama

Last updated: 3/03/2017

Resource Management Act consultation. Represents this group as an "iwi authority" for the purposes of the Resource Management Act 1991.

Hapu Represented: Ngāti Waimaukie, Ngāti Parekarau, Ngāti Tū mai, Te Ahuru, Ngāti Hineuru, Ngāti Hinerua, Ngāti Taki, Ngāti Hia, Ngāti Rākei, Ngāti Hinerau, Ngāti Wai, Rotokawau, Ngāi Tara Pounamu, and Ngāi Tama Tapui.

Area of Interest (Rohe): Poutama landward rohe or area of interest begins at the Waikaramuramu stream, north to Onetai, inland east to the Herangi Ranges to Te Matai south across to Umukaimata, then to Te Nihoniho and on to Aukopae at Ohura, on to Opatu and Tangarakau, to Tahora Paroa, and west to Te Pehu, returning to the sea at Waikaramuramu. Poutama extends out from the Waikaramuramu stream and Onetai stream to the 200 mile limit. Poutama extends from the centre of the earth to ki te Rangi. Click to see Area of Interest map [JPG, 153KB].

Local Authorities: Taranaki Regional Council; New Plymouth District Council; Stratford District Council; Waitomo District Council; Ruapehu District Council; Waikato Regional Council; Horizons Regional Council

Legal entity: Charitable Trust

Chairperson: Haumoana White

RMA Contact: Russell Gibbs Ph: 06 752 5867 Email: karuu.poutama@xtra.co.nz

Postal Address:
c/o Russell Gibbs,
169 Clifton Road, RD 48,
Urenui 4378.

Physical Address:
169 Clifton Road,

Phone: 06 752 5868

Email: karuu.poutama@xtra.co.nz