Users should note that descriptions of rohe (tribal areas / areas over which iwi exercise kaitiakitanga for the purposes of the Resource Management Act 1991) and all Representative Organisation details are a record of information supplied by representative Māori organisations and have not been edited or changed by Te Puni Kōkiri in any way. Therefore their presence on this site does not imply endorsement or any statement about the accuracy of that information by Te Puni Kōkiri or the Crown.

Note, however, that the Ngāi Tahu takiwā boundary, as it appears on the Te Tau Ihu regional map on this site, is recognised by the Crown as the Ngāi Tahu northern legal boundary determined under section 5 of Te Runanga O Ngāi Tahu Act 1996. A full legal description of that boundary is included on the Ngāi Tahu Rohe page.

The information provided in “Iwi by Local Authority” pages is primarily intended to identify the iwi authorities (and where appropriate hapū groups) within a region or district and are not necessarily a precise drawing of boundaries. All reasonable measures have been taken to ensure the quality and accuracy of the information available but its purpose is to meet the requirements of the Resource Management Act 1991 (particularly section 35A(2)) and should not be relied upon for any other purpose.

Marae information has been obtained from a number of sources, but principally from representative iwi organisations. From time to time details of marae names, wharenui and location are amended as new information comes to hand from iwi, hapū or marae representatives. Although Te Puni Kōkiri has taken every step to ensure that all marae details are correct we acknowledge that there may still be some inaccuracies that will be amended as new information comes to hand.