Te Arawa Waka map

The groups listed here are;

  • Iwi recognised by the Crown in the Māori Fisheries Act 2004
  • Any other iwi/hapū groups that have been formally recognised by the Crown for historic Treaty settlement purposes
  • Most of these recognised iwi/hapū are represented by an Iwi authority for the purposes of the Resource Management Act 1991 (RMA)
         Ngāti Tūwharetoa (Bay of Plenty)
         Ngāti Mākino
         Ngāti Pikiao
         Ngāti Whakahemo
         Ngāti Rangiwewehi
         Ngāti Rangiteaorere
         Ngāti Rangitihi
         Ngāti Tarāwhai
         Ngāti Rongomai
         Ngāti Whakaue
         Ngāti Uenukukōpako
         Ngāti Kea / Ngāti Tuarā
         Ngāti Tahu / Ngāti Whaoa
         Ngāti Tūwharetoa
         Ngāti Tūrangitukua