Mātaatua map

The groups listed here are;

  • Iwi recognised by the Crown in the Māori Fisheries Act 2004
  • Any other iwi/hapū groups that have been formally recognised by the Crown for historic Treaty settlement purposes
  • Most of these recognised iwi/hapū are represented by an Iwi authority for the purposes of the Resource Management Act 1991 (RMA)
         Ngāti Awa
         Ngāti Manawa
         Ngāti Whare
         Te Whānau a Apanui
         Ngāti Ruapani ki Waikaremoana